Books Are My Bag Readers Awards


We are delighted to announce this year’s winners of the Books Are My Bag Readers Awards, which were presented last night at a ceremony hosted by Mishal Husain at Foyles in London. This is the second year of these unique awards; the shortlists are curated by booksellers and voted for by the book-loving public. With the exception of the Readers’ Choice Award which is voted for by the public without an initial shortlist.

This is Going to Hurt: Secret Diaries of a Junior Doctor by Adam Kay was announced as the winner of the Readers’ Choice Award, as chosen by the public. The junior-doctor-turned-comedian’s memoir, also came top in the Non Fiction category.

For the second year in a row, Matt Haig with How to Stop Time, a bittersweet story about a man who has been alive for centuries, coming top in Popular Fiction. In 2016 Haig won the Non-Fiction Award for Reasons to Stay Alive.

Celebrated poet, Kate Tempest’s debut novel, The Bricks that Built the Houses, won Breakthrough Author category,  while Colson Whitehead won the Novel Award for The Underground Railroad and The Lost Words by Robert Macfarlane and Jackie Morris was recognised as the most Beautiful Book of the year.

For the first time, this year the children’s categories were voted for by children themselves, with The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas winning the YA Award, and Letters from the Lighthouse by Emma Carroll taking home the Middle Grade Award.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: