Man Booker Longlist 2018

The longlist or ‘Man Booker Dozen’, announced on Monday 23rd July, was chosen from 171 submissions – the highest number of titles put forward in the prize’s 50 year history.

This year’s list of 13 books was selected by a panel of five judges: the philosopher Kwame Anthony Appiah (Chair); crime writer Val McDermid; cultural critic Leo Robson; feminist writer and critic Jacqueline Rose; and artist and graphic novelist Leanne Shapton.

        Author                                                  Title 
Belinda Bauer (UK)                      Snap 

Anna Burns (UK)                          Milkman

Nick Drnaso (USA)                       Sabrina

Esi Edugyan (Canada)                 Washington Black

Guy Gunaratne (UK)                    In Our Mad And Furious City

Daisy Johnson (UK)                     Everything Under

Rachel Kushner (USA)                The Mars Room

Sophie Mackintosh (UK)              The Water Cure

Michael Ondaatje (Canada)         Warlight

Richard Powers (USA)                 The Overstory 

Robin Robertson (UK)                  The Long Take Faber)

Donal Ryan (Ireland)                    From A Low And Quiet Sea (Doubleday Ireland)

Image for The English Patient

This year’s Golden Man Booker winner Michael Ondaatje – a special one-off award that crowned the best work of fiction from the last five decades of the prize – makes the list with his seventh novel Warlight; Ondaatje’s The English Patient shared the 1992 Booker Prize with Sacred Hunger by Barry Unsworth.

Image for Warlight

Shortlist announced on Thursday 20th September.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: