The Baillie Gifford Prize Winner 2018


The winner of the Baillie Gifford Prize 2018 (formerly the Samuel Johnson Prize) is Serhii Plokhy with Chernobyl.

Judges’ comment: “Serhii Plokhy’s account of the tragedy of Chernobyl describes how Cold War political pressures, a flawed nuclear industry, and human error combined to produce a nuclear disaster that affected the lives of millions and hastened the Soviet Union’s demise, but which could have been so much worse. Written in clear, precise prose, the book’s message is still urgent today: we must learn from what happened in Ukraine on April 26th, 1986.”

See Book News page for more information

One thought on “The Baillie Gifford Prize Winner 2018

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: