Teens and YA

Ones to lookout for!

Image for We Are Blood And Thunder

We are Blood and Thunder by Kesia Lupo   Pub 4 April 2019

A stunning and original YA fantasy from a fantastic new talent. In a city where magic is feared and the dead are worshipped, life is overshadowed by a powerful and devastating storm cloud. One young woman is running for her life. Another is trying to return home. Both are looking for a place where they belong. But what Lena and Constance don’t realise is that the storm cloud binds them.

Without it, neither can get what she desires.

 

Image for Scar (Ink Trilogy Book 3)

Scar by Alice Broadway    Pub 4 April 2019

Scar, the explosive finale book to the Ink Trilogy is out now. In Alice Broadway’s amazing teen fantasy, INK taught Leora that all was not what it seems on the surface. SPARK taught her that there are two sides to every story. Now in Scar,Leora has had enough of lessons – she wants to make her own story.

 

Image for INKInk         Image for Spark (Ink Trilogy Book 2)     Spark

 

 

Image for Eve of ManEve of Man by Giovanna and Tom Fletcher

THE FIRST BOOK IN A BRAND-NEW TRILOGY  Fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent and The Handmaid’s Tale will love this electrifying dystopian love story. Against all odds she survived!

Eve is no ordinary sixteen-year-old. She lives alone in the Tower under the strict gaze of the Mothers, because she is the last girl on Earth. Now it’s time for Eve to face her destiny. Three males have been selected and the future of humanity lies in her hands. She always accepted her fate.

The second title The Eve Illusion coming later in 2019

 

Event on 25th June: Our thanks to Chapel en le Frith High School for inviting us to bring these books to you.

Winner of the Carnegie Medal 2018 is

Image for Where the World Ends

Where The World Ends by Geraldine McCaughrean

Winner of the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2018. Every summer Quill and his friends are put ashore on a remote sea stac to hunt birds. But this summer, no one arrives to take them home.

Surely nothing but the end of the world can explain why they’ve been abandoned – cold, starving and clinging to life, in the grip of a murderous ocean. How will they survive?

 

The other books on the shortlist were:
Image for Beyond the Bright Sea

Beyond the Bright Sea by Lauren Wolk

‘Harper Lee has a worthy successor. Wolk is a big new talent’ – The TimesCrow has lived her whole life on a tiny, starkly beautiful island. Her only companions are Osh, the man who rescued her from a washed-up skiff as a baby and raised her, and Miss Maggie, their neighbour across the sandbar.

But it is only when a mysterious fire appears across the water that an unspoken question of her own history forms in Crow’s heart, and an unstoppable chain of events is triggered. Crow sets out to find her lost identity – and, ultimately, to learn what it means to be a family. Vivid and heartfelt, Beyond the Bright Sea is a gorgeously crafted, gripping tale of buried treasure and belonging.

Image for Saint Death : shortlisted for the CILIP Carnegie Media 2018

Saint Death by Marcus Sedgewick

A potent, powerful and timely thriller about migrants, drug lords and gang warfare set on the US/Mexican border by PRINTZ MEDAL winning and CARNEGIE MEDAL, COSTA BOOK AWARD and GUARDIAN CHILDREN’S FICTION PRIZE shortlisted novelist, Marcus Sedgwick. Anapra is one of the poorest neighbourhoods in the Mexican city of Juarez – twenty metres outside town lies a fence, and beyond it, America – the dangerous goal of many a migrant. Faustino is one such trying to escape from the gang he’s been working for.

He’s dipped into a pile of dollars he was supposed to be hiding and now he’s on the run. He and his friend, Arturo, have only 36 hours to replace the missing money, or they’re as good as dead. Watching over them is Saint Death.

Saint Death (or Santissima Muerte) – she of pure bone and charcoal-black eye, she of absolute loyalty and neutral morality, holy patron to rich and poor, to prostitute and narco-lord, criminal and police-chief. A folk saint, a rebel angel, a sinister guardian.

Image for The Hate U Give

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Winner of the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2018, Winner of the Children’s Book of the Year 2018 at the British Book Awards, #1 New York Times bestseller. Soon to be a major motion picture, starring Amandla Stenberg. A Teen Vogue Best YA Book of the Year “Stunning.”-John Green “A masterpiece.”-The Huffington Post “An essential read for everyone.”-Teen Vogue “Outstanding.” -The Guardian. Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community.

It could also get her killed. Inspired by the Black Lives Matter movement, this is a powerful and gripping YA novel about one girl’s struggle for justice.

Image for Release

Release by Patrick Ness

The most personal and tender novel yet from Patrick Ness, the twice Carnegie Medal-winning author of A Monster Calls. It’s Saturday, it’s summer and, although he doesn’t know it yet, everything in Adam Thorn’s life is going to fall apart. But maybe, just maybe, he’ll find freedom from the release.

Time is running out though, because way across town, a ghost has risen from the lake… This uplifting coming-of-age novel will remind you what it’s like to fall in love.

Image for Rook

Rook by Anthony McGowan

A poignant, beautifully written novella about growing up and family. A companion piece to the hugely successful Brock and Pike, McGowan warms hearts once more with the adventures of Nicky and Kenny.

Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers aged 13+

 

Image for After The Fire

After The Fire by Will Hill

Father John controls everything inside The Fence. And Father John likes rules. Especially about never talking to Outsiders.

Because Father John knows the truth. He knows what is right, and what is wrong. He knows what is coming.

But Moonbeam is starting to see the lies behind Father John’s words. She wants him to be found out. What if the only way out of the darkness is to light a fire?

YA Book Prize 2017

The 10 titles shortlisted, winner will be announced at the Hay Festival on the 1st June 2017.

British Book Awards 2017

The Girl of Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

Poet Kiran’s debut novel is this years book of the year.

The judges ‘praised the poetic beauty of the novel and its centering of two female protagonists’

Forbidden to leave her island, Isabella dreams of the faraway lands her cartographer father once mapped. When her friend disappears, she volunteers to guide the search. The world beyond the walls is a monster-filled wasteland – and beneath the dry rivers and smoking mountains, a fire demon is stirring from its sleep.
Soon, following her map, her heart and an ancient myth, Isabella discovers the true end of her journey: to save the island itself.

Paperback in stock now 6.99

 

oneOne by Sarah Crossan

Grace and Tippi don’t like being stared and sneered at,but they areused to it. They are conjoined twins united in blood and bone. What they want is to be looked at in turn , like they are two people. They want real friends. And what above love? But a heart wrenching decision lies ahead of Grace and Tippi. One that could change their lives more than they ever wished for.

Paperback in stock now 6.99

Surviving Crosby Beach by James Mooney

james mooney 1Inspired by a day out to Crosby Beach (you know, where the statues are in the sea) James Mooney who, just before his thirteenth birthday, wrote a story for the National Short Story Writing competition run in conjunction with the BBC.

Having been very touched by the suffering of refugee children from Syria and children in Britain, James decided to publish his story to raise awareness and funds for Childline.

James’s story is very well written and very perceptive for a young lad. Maybe it could teach us all a lesson when we argue with loved ones just what is most important in our lives. Well done James!

His story is on sale in the shop for £2. Please support James in his very worthwhile cause to do something for others knowing he is very fortunate.

Click on the link to find out more about Anthony Gormley’s creation ‘Another Place’

http://www.visitliverpool.com/things-to-do/another-place-by-antony-gormley-p160981